Liverpool City Council Tender Adults with a Learning Disability to the Cheapest Bidder

The new social worker, the second in two months, looked from Marie to me. Marie had been assessed and offered a permanent place in the respite home she had visited over a five year period, originally introduced through Liverpool City Council. It had been 2 and 1/2 months since we had applied and six weeks since assessment had been completed so I was expecting this new social worker to come with good news. Instead, he said, ‘If we give you more support could she continue to live at home?’ I was taken aback. I’d been asking for more support for years, but now it was too late. Years of struggling had ruined my health and I told him so.
He nodded towards Marie. ‘You won’t get your choice of home because she’s going to be offered for tender on the care portal.’ He stated.
Now I was confused.’Offered for tender on the care portal?’ I repeated the words hanging in the air.

‘Care providers will bid for her.’

Call me stupid but I still didn’t understand.’What do you mean, bid for her? I asked him.
‘She’ll be put out to tender and we’ll see what offers come in. We usually take the lowest’ he laughed.
I went to speak but couldn’t get the words out. I had never heard anything like it in my life. It was beyond my realm of perception. I just could not grasp what he was saying. ‘You don’t mean advertise her on the internet, do you?’ I asked expecting him to maybe laugh and tell me not to be so daft but instead he nodded.
I glanced over at Marie, innocent, trusting, vulnerable Marie and still in disbelief I said, ‘You don’t mean like, “51 year-old woman with a severe learning disability looking for a home..?” I trailed.

‘Yeah, that’s right’, he answered. 
I was dumbstruck. His mouth continued to move but I couldn’t hear the words.
I looked at Marie’s PA who was sitting beside me with eyes filled with tears, mirroring exactly what I felt. And I thought,  

Oh my God….Oh my God…. how has this ever been allowed to happen? How can these vulnerable people that we love so much be treated in such a cruel way? Their care for sale on the internet!

One thought on “Liverpool City Council Tender Adults with a Learning Disability to the Cheapest Bidder

Leave a Reply

