I demand that you make your ridiculous failing PIP appointment system accessible to disabled people

This is from the facebook page 4UP:

I work full time always have, I am disabled, have been since age 8 when I caught polio and my left leg became paralysed. In 1992 I got a life award of DLA high rate mobility, this enabled me to go to uni and have a life.

In August 2016 I got a letter saying DLA was ending and inviting me to claim PIP which I did. I was invited to attend a clinic assessment in a city centre building at 8 am on 18 October, I contacted them to explain that it was inaccessible due to the location, no parking and my mobility. I was asked to send medical proof of this which I did ( proof which says I can only walk a few steps from a doctor which is what they are assessing me for). They agreed I could be assessed at home. I asked if we can make an appointment for this as I have no annual leave left and my diary is solid for 3 weeks ahead but they have no appointments available.

I was then sent an appointment for 10 November, I had to go to some lengths to rearrange my diary but managed this. Capita rung me on 4 November to tell me that this appointment was cancelled as the assessor had resigned. Yesterday I received a letter offering me an appointment on 30 November once again I have rearranged my diary. Today they called to say that they have cancelled that appointment as their assessor has left (what since Monday?) and they have made me an appointment for 21 November instead.

I can’t make that appointment as I am chairing an important meeting on that day which can’t be moved. Capita’s reply “well that’s your first cancellation do it again and we will send your case back to DWP and your benefits will be stopped”. But I haven’t had this appointment in writing yet and I did ask for 3 weeks notice as I don’t manage my own immediate work diary.

I said can we make an appointment together please as I am working full time and have no annual leave and you have cancelled both appointments that I could accommodate? No we haven’t any available. Will you consult with me before booking another appointment? No, our system allocates it. And if I can’t make the appointment? Then you could lose your benefits.


Well Capita I, Sharon Griffin, demand that you make your ridiculous failing system accessible to disabled people. We work, we live, we have commitments and you need to understand and respect this. Your system is in inhuman and degrading, obstructive and not fit for purpose and I speak for disabled people when I make this protest post. Please share this and help me fight this consciously cruel system.

7 thoughts on “I demand that you make your ridiculous failing PIP appointment system accessible to disabled people

  1. Reblogged this on Christopher John Ball and commented:
    Another example of how messed up the system is for disabled people. A system made deliberately messed up. Sharon had two appointments cancelled by Capita – they offered a third but she couldn’t make the one offered to replace the second Capita cancelled appointment, due to diary/work commitments, YET it is she who is threatened with having her claim sent back. seems Capita can cancel when they wish BUT if YOU cannot make the appointment YOU are given nothing but threats.

  2. Pingback: I demand that you make your ridiculous failing PIP appointment system accessible to disabled people | Lindas Blog

  3. How very true – this is happening far too often as it’s a way of getting people off PIP. It’s about time people took a stand against the way the disabled and long term sick are treated. We are to be respected as everyone else in society!

  4. Pingback: I demand that you make your ridiculous failing PIP appointment system accessible to disabled people | Benefit tales | Jay's Journal

Leave a Reply

