Cruel DWP bosses tell disabled dad that if he can walk to the GP’s surgery then he is fit to work

William Miller has had his disability benefits stopped despite a crippling condition that could see him having his foot amputated.

HEARTLESS DWP bosses told a crippled dad if he could walk to his doctor’s surgery, he was fit to work.

William Miller, 61, has had his disability benefit stopped – despite facing an op to have his foot amputated if his illness deteriorates.

William, from Johnstone, Renfrewshire, worked as an electrician before being struck down by a painful condition which causes his bones to break. He says he can’t walk to the end of his road, never mind the mile and a half to see his GP.

DWP chiefs said that work assessments are designed to ensure people are no longer “written off” on sickness benefit.

His daughter Lyndsey, 32, has written to Work and Pensions Secretary Damian Green and First Minister Nicola Sturgeon, demanding help for her dad.

And campaigners yesterday called for Work Capability Assessments to be scrapped in light of the case.

William said: “They’re telling me if I can walk to my GP, I can work. But I can’t walk to my GP. I can barely walk 20 yards to the end of my street without being in pain.

“I have to take taxis everywhere and need to get to my GP and the hospital twice a week. I don’t know how I’m supposed to find a job.

Read more here:

One thought on “Cruel DWP bosses tell disabled dad that if he can walk to the GP’s surgery then he is fit to work

Leave a Reply

