Disabled single mum fights back tears as she tells MPs of her treatment by tax credits firm Concentrix

Sarah Broome was told to ask for her benefits back in a hand-written letter – despite the fact she has one hand and suffers chronic pain

A disabled single mum fought back tears today as she told MPs of her treatment at the hands of shamed tax credits firm Concentrix.

Sarah Broome, 30, was told to ask for her benefits back in a hand-written letter – despite the fact she has one hand and suffers chronic pain and carpal tunnel syndrome.

The mum-of-two told MPs her tax credits were stopped in August after she was “financially connected” to a person she had never heard of.

She spent 19 hours and 57 minutes on the phone to the US outsourcing firm in six weeks – including one day when she was blocked by an engaged tone 70 times.

Eventually she got through to an advisor but was told she could not send a letter using a dictation service.

Ms Broome told MPs: “I said ‘I can’t write because my hand shakes. How do you expect me to write this letter by hand?’

“They told me ‘well, you are just going to have to get someone else to write it for you’. They were the exact words.

“I cried all day after that phone call and it’s been very emotional. My one-year-old and my four-year-old have seen me cry.”

She added: “This has consumed my life and my family’s life.”

read more here: http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/disabled-single-mum-fights-back-9040731#

One thought on “Disabled single mum fights back tears as she tells MPs of her treatment by tax credits firm Concentrix

Leave a Reply

