‘I have £47 a week to pay for all of my food and my bills’ This is what happens at a Cardiff food bank

One group has helped more than 1.1m people in the UK over the last year

It’s something which more and more people are starting to rely on – foodbanks.

But behind all the figures around the growing demand are real people who, for a variety of reasons, depend on their foodbank visits to provide them and their families with the basics.

One of these examples is the foodbank at the City Temple in Cardiff , one of seven foodbank centres in the city managed by The Trussell Trust. The Trussell Trust run a network of foodbanks across the UK, providing more than 1.1m three-day food emergency parcels to people in 2015/2016.

One user of the City Temple foodbank is Anthony, 51, from Cardiff.

He said: “I have to come here because I can’t work, I’ve got my children to look after and the money I receive just isn’t enough to get on. I don’t want to think what would happen if this service wasn’t here.”

The parcels of food handed out to users at the foodbank consist of non-perishable goods from dried pasta to tins of soup and vegetables. Most people at the centre said each parcel provides for at least a week………………..

Another user John, 33, said: “This is my second time coming to a food bank.

“I’m here because my benefits have been cut and I just don’t have enough money. I end up with £47 a week to pay for all of my food and my bills – it’s just impossible.”

read more here: http://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/i-47-week-pay-food-11997150

 

Leave a Reply

