It’s the £30bn cut you’ve never heard of. And women are bearing the brunt

This article from the Guardian hits home hard. I thought I was reaching my pension age when I was 60. Just a few years from my 60th birthday, I discovered that I’d have to wait until I was 62. A couple of years later and I am told I will now have to wait till I am 63.5. I calculate that the government have saved themselves over £20,000 on my back alone.

This article written written by Gaby Hinsliff in the Guardian on 26th Feb 2016. This is an extract.

………………………………………………

On Wednesday, parliament once again debated the single biggest austerity measure you’ve probably never heard of, unless you’re a woman in your mid-fifties to early sixties: George Osborne’s decision back in 2011 to fast-forward the hitherto long, slow process of equalising the state pension age at 66 for both men and women. That milestone will now be reached by 2020, not 2026, which sounds like a boringly minor technical tweak until you realise it saves the state £30bn.

And all achieved with miraculously little fuss, partly because knackered older women are not as exciting to the media as, say, Helen Mirren in a bikini, and partly because many older women didn’t even notice their retirement dates were being pushed further and further back. (Many say they never got official letters warning of the changes and still assumed they were retiring at 60; confusingly, retirement ages for women born between 1953-60 can now be anywhere between 62 and 66, depending on your birthday).

Well, they’re noticing now. And many are reacting much as marathon runners would if some fit young organiser blithely decided to add a few miles to the route just as they were hobbling painfully to the finishing line.

read more here: https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/feb/26/biggest-austerity-cut-women-50s-bearing-brunt

2 thoughts on “It’s the £30bn cut you’ve never heard of. And women are bearing the brunt

Leave a Reply

