Getting older and getting sanctioned. You think being young sucks.

“I felt like I was being totally bullied in the playground by this big bitch… it’s like the more white and English you are, the more fucking shit you are. I’m not being funny, but it’s true.”

So. That’s a quote. That’s the sort of thing people say when I talk with them at jobcentres. These places are not pleasant, you know.

I give you the transcript below as an example of one sort of discussion that I have a lot of – discussions with people who are over 50, out of work and signing on at jobcentres where they must participate in jobsearch activities. In the past couple of years, I’ve met a lot of people who are over 50 and sometimes getting on for 60 at jobcentres. Some are on Jobseekers’ Allowance and some are on Employment And Support Allowance, and some go backwards and forwards between the two as they’re found fit for work and then found not-so-fit-for-work when advisers see where things are really at. I’m not sure exactly what point I’m trying to make by uploading these stories. I think it is probably that signing on when you’re older is grim and that I hope I never have to do it.

Read more here: http://www.katebelgrave.com/2016/04/getting-older-and-getting-sanctioned-you-think-being-young-sucks/

2 thoughts on “Getting older and getting sanctioned. You think being young sucks.

Leave a Reply

