Here’s what she wrote at 2am – When she couldn’t get to sleep (as usual) because of the pain she was in

This was posted on the DPAC facebook page this morning. It is in response to the latest Conservative government scheme to claw money back from the benefit system. They are pushing through a reduction in basic sickness benefit to the same level as basic unemployment benefit, against the wishes of the House of Lords and over 60 major charities. Please share.

………………………………………………………

“Please share. Not just for me to get big numbers or to get famous, but to spread the word of what MPs are doing to people like MY DAUGHTER, Lydia.
When you’ve shared, please encourage others to share.

For those who ask what’s wrong with her, this says it all. For those who ask what’s wrong with this government – This says it all.

Here’s is what she wrote at 2am – When she couldn’t get to sleep (as usual) because of the pain she was in…………………………….

“The Government however says the cut will incentivise disabled people to find work.”
DOES ANYONE UNDERSTAND HOW ABSOLUTELY FUMING THIS MAKES ME?
I will be the first to admit I receive ESA. This is because I am disabled. This is because my disability means I am unable to work. I am unable to work because my conditions mean I am unable to stand for long periods of time, but they also mean I am unable to sit for long periods of time. I cannot walk for long periods of time, but at the same time I cannot stand in one place for long periods of time. Every single joint and muscle in my body is affected through my conditions. On a good day, I can walk around town for a bit. Maybe go on a VERY rare night out. But I will then pay for doing these things by being housebound for the next week, being left in pure agony, wishing I’d never bothered trying to be a normal teenager. On a bad day, the thought of moving my eyes from left to right makes me want to throw up (throwing up meaning I have to use muscles, muscles which are in intense pain as it is).
Yet I’m being told by this government that if they make cuts to my ESA claim, it may give me some incentive to work.
IT’S AS IF THEY’RE CALLING ME LAZY. AS IF I CHOOSE TO BE LIKE THIS. I am one of the most ambitious people you will ever meet. I am desperately trying to think of ways I can make money independently. But instead I’m being called lazy for having a body that just plain doesn’t work.
Once the Tories have privatised the NHS, my life will basically be over.
Well done, Cameron.

2 thoughts on “Here’s what she wrote at 2am – When she couldn’t get to sleep (as usual) because of the pain she was in

  1. I’m afraid you are not alone. There are many folks isolated like you, wondering how do I get my sorry life back on track? Or even will it ever happen? Living for the good days when we can pretend to the world we are normal, because who want’s to be, what ever we are? Invalid? Every time the govt vote to take yet another thing away from us it is a blow. Our countrymen are allowing this. It is done in their name. It is as though the whole country has dealt yet another blow. And quite right too because being too poorly to work, we must be bad and need punishing. I hope that there is light at the end of your painful tunnel.

    Does anyone care that while they vote to cut ESA, (with maybe 20% of that saving being given to private companies to provide work coaches), the NHS budgets are also cut? Treatment if available, is being delayed for months, a year, indefinitely? We must be expected to work, unwell, untreated, using mind over matter no doubt to endure.

Leave a Reply

