Indignity – a policeman’s experience of mental health patients and the police system

Working as a police officer has forced me to be a part of some of the most unbelievable indignities I’ve ever seen and I wasn’t a willing participant in many of them – and unfortunately the worst of them have been mental health related incidents. After almost eighteen years of experience, I’ve seen and done some things I’d really rather not and it’s influenced my thinking about what I believe we should be trying to achieve here.

I wanted to share just some of them with you —

https://mentalhealthcop.wordpress.com/2015/10/10/indignity/

Mental Health Cop

Working as a police officer has forced me to be a part of some of the most unbelievable indignities I’ve ever seen and I wasn’t a willing participant in many of them – and unfortunately the worst of them have been mental health related incidents. After almost eighteen years of experience, I’ve seen and done some things I’d really rather not and it’s influenced my thinking about what I believe we should be trying to achieve here.

I wanted to share just some of them with you —

  • I don’t want to see a complete, unequivocal end to the use of police custody as a Place of Safety under the Mental Health Act because it saves the custody officer some grief – it’s absolutely degrading to see someone in distress in custody where they have done nothing wrong. In many cases it is also legally degrading and no-one should pretend…

View original post 699 more words

2 thoughts on “Indignity – a policeman’s experience of mental health patients and the police system

Leave a Reply

