I was told I had to sanction a certain number of benefit claimants per month. Sanction. Not “get in to work”. Sanction.

CommonSpace columnist Fraser Stewart recalls why he left the “best job” he’d ever had in a UK job centre
I WORKED in the job centre, in a previous life.

To this day I maintain it was the best job I’ve ever had, as short-lived as it was. After just 18 months, I handed in my notice and left a workplace that had, until that point, felt like home.

I left for one reason and one reason alone – the coalition government taking office in 2010. In a matter of what seemed like seconds my role had changed from getting people into work, to cutting the welfare bill by any means: from merciful to mercenary; helping hand to hired gun.

I was told I had to sanction a certain number of benefit claimants per month. Sanction. Not “get in to work”. Sanction.

 

read the rest of Fraser Stuart’s article here: https://commonspace.scot/articles/1887/fraser-stewart-what-my-job-in-a-uk-job-centre-told-me-about-today-s-benefits-system

One thought on “I was told I had to sanction a certain number of benefit claimants per month. Sanction. Not “get in to work”. Sanction.

Leave a Reply

